Interrogating Identity 11…………..Pecha Kucha

Posted historically.

The Pecha Kucha session in which I presented my images was in the first such session scheduled, and only a few weeks into the module. Consequently I was not able to use any current work.

It was necessary therefore, to make a choice between showing and discussing work by other practitioners, or refer to previous personal work, or, (something I felt would probably be a mess), negotiate a combination of both.

I felt that to get too bogged down with other practitioners work at this early stage, might restrict my own ideas, so decided to concentrate completely on previous personal work that might, (and I emphasise might), have some influence on where I might take the module.

I explained this at the outset, empahasising that I’d very much taken a ‘scatter-gun’ approach, dipping into work, some of which went back quite a few years, and that any image included was there purely as I felt it might possibly provide some sort of ‘jumping off point’ for where I might go with any new work generated for this module, none of the images I selected were intended to indicate ideas I intended to follow in their current form.

In retrospect, I really didn’t find this a particularly useful exercise from the point of view of generating any new approaches, I’m already perfectly aware of the sort of things/ideas/themes that interest me, and digging up previous examples seemed to be looking backward rather than forward. It was also unfortunate that feedback was based on work that I feel I’ve left behind.

Also, as is nearly always the case when getting feedback from peers, most feedback tends to be firmly based on the interests and attitudes of the person giving it, and though it is always interesting to hear, I find it very rarely helps me to move forward in focusing my own ideas.

Response to the images I used was mixed, and, I’m pretty sure as a consequence of the fact that the twenty images were such a disparate bunch, quite confused. I got the impression people were trying to find links when there really weren’t any.

The ideas I started to explore in last years studio module of exploring dreams seemed to strike a few chords but, at the moment, I feel that this is not something I want to continue with. This course is only three years long and it was always my intention to explore as many different ideas as possible rather than getting entrenched in one particular area of interest. Spending a second semester thinking about the same source  material really does not appeal. After the PK session I felt even more than before that I wanted to explore something new.

The one exception to this was the vague idea of an exploration of some aspect of cultural identity. I touched upon this, (very briefly and elliptically), with shots from Spanish religious festivals which I’d actually included because of the use of masks, and photographs of traditional Asian dance.

Leave a comment